Why?

Why is there something, instead of nothing?

That question is the proverbial “Big Bang” of philosophy, in that all other questions spin away from it’s epicenter.

Caedmon likes to play, what my kids call, “The Why Game.” He’s good at articulating the word, and loves to ask the question over and over, as I attempt to provide responses. Why? You’ll have to ask him.
Aren’t we all playing the game though? We might not know who to ask, or we may just reflect quietly, but the question(s) of “why” is a universally pervasive human issue.
  • Why am I here? (Not in Tallahassee or Atlanta, but in the universe.)
  • Why do bad things happen?
  • Why am I working at my particular job?
  • Why am I alone?
  • Why did my friend die?
  • Why don’t I have more money?
  • Why did my mom abuse, and abandon me?
The questions could go on all day.
I’m reading a book called This Momentary Marriage, by John Piper (which I would highly recommend you to pick up). The book is addressing the purpose of marriage. The question of purpose is the fraternal twin to the more simplified question of “why.” What is the purpose of marriage, or why does marriage exist at all?
Piper agrees with me (see what I did there) in believing marriage is a big deal, and it’s beautiful. It’s a picture of God’s love and commitment to His bride, the church. It has a deep, transcendent purpose.
I just finished the chapter focusing on the unique, and equally beautiful purpose of singleness, and I couldn’t help but think of the people in my life who are single. Of my six brothers and sisters, only me and one of my four sisters is married. Whether it’s formed by a well-meaning mom, or asked in the dark silence of an empty house, one has to wonder, “Why am I single?”
If the college girls I work with are lamenting over the question, I know ladies who are years removed from the university system are struggling with it as well, guys too.
This is where my heart breaks.
Not because they are single. But because they don’t know why. They don’t know there’s a purpose. They feel like they are perpetually in the dark about their own life. I can only imagine how frustrating that must be.
I’m not just talking about my sisters. I’m talking about all of us. Anyone who asks the question “why.”
  • Why am I in a wheelchair?
  • Why can’t I see?
  • Why is my life difficult?
  • Why does my child have autism?
  • Why…
We are all seeking a reason, a purpose for our situation. It’s the difference between bungee jumping and just falling out of a plane.
This is one of the reasons I’m a Christian. I believe there are answers to all of those questions. I believe they are found in the truth that God is. He transcends our material existence. He has a purpose, or there is a reason for everything.
I just want you to consider these verses. Reflect on their specific meaning, and reflect on what they describe about God. He exists. He loves you.
  • For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. – Eph. 2:10
  • And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. – Romans 8:28
  • As he passed by, he saw a man blind from birth. And his disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” Jesus answered, “It was not that this man sinned, or his parents, but that the works of God might be displayed in him. – John 9:1-3
  • And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. – Col. 3:17
(Writer’s note: I am not trying to equate any of the mentioned circumstances to another. Nor am I trying to say that being single or having Autism ,  etc is bad. My goal is to say that there is a purpose. If we are unhappy with a circumstance, often it’s because we don’t know why it’s happening. This post is to all who wonder why, in hopes of them finding God in the midst of their questions.)
About ryan85

A son, a brother, a husband, a father of eight, and a friend. A follower of Jesus Christ. A fan of the Seminoles and all teams Atlanta. I write, I read, and teach when I can. I prefer red pens. I'm easily distracted. I've lived in Augusta, GA, northern Minnesota, the beautiful western NC mountains, and Tallahassee, FL - Go 'Noles. I played football for FSU, was on the national championship team in 1999, and took a few snaps with the Pittsburgh Steelers. My favorite colors are fluorescent yellow, and Garnet & Gold. I drive a minivan and think it's cool.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

